Chris Squire Came >This Close< to Producing Rush

Rush_Grace_Under_Pressure

Yes man Chris Squire was in the running to produce Rush’s 1984 album Grace Under Pressure, but he found himself facing some stiff competition.

“I was a possible candidate to produce a Rush album,” he said recently in a Q&A on the Yes website, “but when I showed up there, Trevor Horn was sitting next to me. I said to Trevor, ‘What are you doing here?’ And he said ‘Oh, I’ve been asked to come and meet the band because I might be producing them.’ And I said, ‘So have I!’”

In the end, the band decided to produce the record themselves, with assistance from Peter Henderson, who had helmed Supertramp’s Breakfast in America, Paris and … Famous Last Words … But Rush’s Geddy Lee is still a fan of the Yes bass man. “He’ll always be a pinnacle of great bass players,” he told MusicRadar early this year.

Leave a Reply

